First Protestant Church - Santa Cruz
Site of the first Protestant Church in Santa Cruz. THE FIRST METHODIST - First church building constructed here. Founded 1848 - Dedicated 1850. Marked by Santa Cruz Parlor 26 - Native Daughters of the Golden West - March 11, 1968
Built in the Mexican period. Home of J.A. Moerenhaut, a French Consul to California. Monterey History & Art Assn.
Monterey and Salinas Valley Railroad
Mountain Charlie Road
Nitt Witt Ridge
881 Hillcrest Drive
Nitt Witt Ridge, one of California's remarkable Twentieth Century folk art environments, is the creation of Arthur Harold Beal (Der Tinkerpaw or Capt. Nitt Witt), a Cambria Pines pioneer, who sculpted the land using hand tools and indigenous materials, remarkable inventiveness, and self-taught skills. A blend of native materials and contemporary elements, impressive in its sheer mass and meticulous placement, it is a revealing memorial to Art's unique cosmic humor and zest for life.
California Registered Historical Landmark No.939.
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with Saving and Preserving Arts and Cultural Environments and the Art Beal Foundation, Non-profi and Educational Corporations, June 26, 1986.
Old Fisherman's Wharf
Monterey's earliest pier of stone built in 1846 gave way to a commercial fishing wharf in the early 1900's when Monterey's multi-million dollar fishing industry was born. Despite many changes the wharf today retains the tone and flavor of the past - a monument to the fishing industry and the fishermen who braved the wind and sea.
"Mountain Charley" McKiernan, One of the earliest residents of the Santa Cruz mountains, settled near here in 1850. John Martin Schultheis and his wife homesteaded land about a mile from here in 1852. Their home still standing (1950), the Patchen Post Office, named for a famous race horse, was located in this vicinity 1872-1920's.
State Registered Landmark No 448.
Tablet placed by California Centennials Commission. Base furnished by Los Gatos Lions Club. Dedicated May 20, 1950.
This is the oldest store building along the north coast of San Luis Obispo county. Built in 1852 at Whaling Point, one half mile westward, it was moved in 1878 to its present location. Operated by the Sebastian family for half century, it is now owned and operated by J.C. and Louise Sebastian.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 726.
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with San Luis Obispo County Historical Society and El Pinal Parlor No. 163. Native Daughters of the Golden West, May 29, 1960.